Home » Friends. » A Benign Presence

A Benign Presence

Mental Health Cop

Have you ever had an unexpected knock on your door from the police? I haven’t, thankfully – and long may it remain to be so. I’ve actually been the unexpected knock on the door from the police on more occasions that I’m comfortable with and I’m not sure you ever forget the first one – I certainly haven’t. We were asked to attend an address on my area in Winson Green in Birmingham to inform a woman who her elderly mother had unexpectedly died in hospital – and this task fell to me on the morning of Mother’s Day. I could still take you to the address now, almost eighteen years after this responsibility and I’ll never forget the look in her eyes when she first opened the door. That was actually worse than her reaction when I said the words, at least for me – it bordered on terror.

View original post 1,592 more words

Leave a Reply

