Home » Friends. » “The Right to an Education”, Article Typed by Non-Verbal Autistic Piano Student with Dyspraxia

“The Right to an Education”, Article Typed by Non-Verbal Autistic Piano Student with Dyspraxia

Henny Kupferstein

NICOLAS JONCOURNICOLAS JONCOUR

Article typed by Nicolas Joncour, Piano Student

[First appeared in ZOOM Autism Through Many Lenses magazine, Issue 9, p. 20]

A decent life in France is practically impossible for an autistic student, especially if you are nonverbal like me. In special schools there is no real education, and the psychiatric hospital remains the norm. As my mother encounters more and more difficulties to enroll me in a normal school, the only solution to an equal opportunity is maybe to leave France. I want to go to university to study the Holocaust as people with disabilities are still destined to horrific fates.

My hope is to study history and the Holocaust, a subject that has intrigued me for almost six years. Specifically, Operation T4, which is the eradication of the people with disabilities by the Nazis. Perhaps the Holocaust interests me because I feel the discrimination in relation to my…

View original post 384 more words

Leave a Reply

