Home » Friends. » An Autistic Letter to the Senedd

An Autistic Letter to the Senedd

Autism and expectations

I don’t have a loud-hailer or a soapbox. I don’t have the ability to build a public, social platform. I don’t have the structure to make you listen.

But I do have a voice.

I started off meek and mild and questing, the more I learned the more frustrated I got, but I still wake full of hope. I still believe. I still know things can be better.

This week the Welsh Assembly, a beautiful, swoopy glass building, voted against an Autism Act for Wales. 24 to 27. So close. So few minds to change to change my world, but change they did not.

Why oh why would we need such a thing? An act just for autism? An act of autism? An enactment of autisming?

Because of me.

Because of people like me. Because of my autistic community, my people and their families and carers. Because it matters.

Do…

View original post 209 more words

Leave a Reply

